mp-9.jpg

Welcome to the Murray Park School Website

Message from our Headteacher

It is a great privilege to lead our fantastic school. My aim is always to give the best educational experience possible in an inspirational setting. Our teachers are fully committed to offering a top-class education that keeps abreast of national and international trends.

We are at an exciting point in the development of Murray Park: Good with Ofsted; some of the best progress data in Derby; rapid closing of gaps for Pupil Premium and SEN students; rapidly rising numbers and a 15 classroom new-build on the horizon - we have much to celebrate!

Our staff, students and governors have created a new strapline for our wonderful school 'Proud to be here', which I feel encompasses how we feel about working at Murray Park as we implement our mission of, 'Supporting students in gaining a positive outlook, shaping their futures and reaching their full potential.' It also sits hand in hand with our new Values: Perseverance, Respect, Independence, Dreams and Excellence.

We offer an exciting broad and balanced curriculum, which involves opening up EBACC to more of our students, as well as offering Statistics, Engineering and Design, Hair and Beauty and Construction to name just a few. Our students can also take advantage of the many opportunities on offer through our local Derby businesses.

Please do not hesitate to make contact if you would like to find out more about of our exciting plans for Murray Park.

Mrs N. Caley

Expansion Project

Below is an artist’s impression of the new building that will contain Reception, 15 classrooms, and a number of offices which is being built at the front of the school.

You may have already noticed some works have been started, these works are ‘enabling works’ such as re-routing of mains services and the demolition of the old caretaker’s bungalow.

The contractors will start work on the new building at the end of June, with completion being August 2019, and ready for use September 2019 (Academic year 2019-2020).

During this period of time, access into school will be restricted with routes for cars and pedestrians being altered.  For students’ safety and consideration for nearby residents, can parents/carers please refrain from driving onto Earlswood Drive and onto school site. 

Learner of the Week

Gote, 10M

Gote has achieved above her target level by 3 grades in Physics and Biology.

 

Upcoming Events

Date

Event

Monday 7th January Return to School
Tuesday 15th January Year 10 Parents Evening
Thursday 17th January Year 9 Liverpool Trip
Wednesday 23rd January Year 8 Skills Challenge Day
Wednesday 23rd January Berlin Passport Information Evening
Thursday 24th January New York Information Evening
Friday 25th January Year 9 Quad Cinema Trip
Friday 25th January Year 10 Resilience Training
Friday 1st & Monday 4th February Year 9 Tommorrows Engineers activity (Learn by Design)
Monday 4th February Year 8 Saltmine Productions
Tuesday 5th February Year 9 Progression Pathway Workshop
Wednesday 6th February Year 9 Careers Talks
Tuesday 12th February  Year 9 Parents/Options Evening
Friday 15th February Break up for Half Term
Monday 25th February Return to School
Monday 11th & Tuesday 12th March Year 11 Field Trip to York
Monday 11th - Friday 15th March New York Trip
Wednesday 13th March The Big Bang Fair 
Friday 15th March Year 10 Resilience Training
Tuesday 19th March Year 8 Parents Evening
Sunday 31st March - Tuesday 2nd April Berlin Trip (Years 9 - 11)
Wednesday 3rd - Friday 5th April We will rock you Production
Sunday 7th - Sunday 14th April China Trip
Monday 8th - Friday 12th April Work Experience Week
Friday 12th April Break up for Easter
Saturday 13th - Tuesday 16th April Mount Vesuvius Trip
Monday 29th April Return to School
Wednesday 1st & Friday 3rd May Year 7 University of Derby Campus Visit
Monday 6th May Bank Holiday
Friday 10th May Year 10 Mock Interviews
Monday 13th May  GCSE Exams begin
Monday 20th May Beauty UK Trip
Friday 24th May  Break up for Half Term
Monday 3rd June Return to School
Tuesday 4th June Year 7 Parents Evening
Thursday 20th June Year 7 Raising Aspirations - Sheffield Hallam University
Thursday 27th June Year 11 Prom
Wednesday 3rd July City sports
Monday 8th - Friday 12th July Year 10 Toyota Industrial Cadets
Monday 15th - Friday 19th July Community Sports Week
Friday 19th July Sports Day
Tuesday 23rd July Students break up for Summer 

 

 

School Closing/Openings highlighted in bold.